Our Church

St. Joseph's Catholic Church

Priest: Rev Richard Carter MA 
Telephone: 0113 257 0803
Email: stjosephspudsey@dioceseofleeds.org.uk
Website: www.stjosephpudsey.org.uk

Parish History

The Parish of St. Joseph's was established in September 1883, when the Foundation Stone for the new Chapel was laid in The Lanes, Pudsey. The stone was laid by Canon Motler of Bradford. The cost of the building and refurbishments was £1,200. There were about 300 parishioners and, until building was completed, Mass was celebrated in a room in Hammerton Field, Pudsey by priests from St Mary's in Bradford.

Solemn opening of the new church was on Sunday 19th April 1884 by the Bishop of Leeds, Dr. Cornthwaite. The Rev J. Simpson officiated and Revs Quinlan & Dillon were Sub-Deacons. The choir from St Mary's Bradford led the singing.

At that time there were approximately 300 Catholics living in the Pudsey area, so there was a demand for a school. The Building was also used as the school, partitioned off with glass doors. Revolving shutters separated the Sanctuary from the body of the Church. The walls of the Sanctuary and  the church were boarded with polished pitched pine. The building was Gothic in style and was surrounded by a high stone wall which is still visible at the Foundation Classroom entrance. 

The Parish Hall was shipped from Belgium (timber framed) in 1913 and then re-assembled. This was then used as the Church with an harmonium on the left hand side. The school then took over the main building. 

The foundation stone for the present Church was laid in 1933. The Parish Priest at the time was Father Versteylen. 

1983 saw the Centenary of the Parish and the Golden Jubilee of the present Church. The priest at that time was Father Edward Horkin. 

the Parish Priests of St. Joseph's, Pudsey

Years Priest
1901–1907 Fr. Paul Hurkmanns O.C.C (R.I.P.)
1908–1933 Fr. Dominic Versteylen (R.I.P.)
1933–1953 Fr. Patrick Duane (R.I.P.)
1953–1955 Fr. John Connolly (R.I.P)
1955–1968 Fr. Austine Hewitt (R.I.P.)
1968–1997 Fr. Edward Horkin
1997–2009 Fr. Michael O'Reilly
2010–present Fr. Richard Carter